Wakeboard/ Kiteboard rocker question

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_wakingcrow_*

Guest_wakingcrow_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 July 2005 - 06:05 PM

I've been looking at the new line of kiteboards that Liquid Force is selling, and trying to figure out what is the major difference between those and my current LF wakeboard. So far what I've found it that my wakeboard is actually bigger than most of them, primarily because it is wider, but also longer than some of them. IN other words it has more surface area than the avg kiteboard they're selling.

The biggest difference I found is that my wakeboard's rocker is 2.25", whereas those of the kiteboard line are 1.2-1.8. How much of a difference does that 1/2-1" of rocker make?

I'm a beginner and went out and bought about $800 in kite bar and harness set up so far. Do I really need to spend $400 more on a new kiteboard or will my wakeboard suffice for now? just doesn't seem to be a big difference. :(

#2 Jake

Jake
  • Moderators
  • 400 posts
  • Interests:Graphic/web design, photography, hanging out at the beach, mountain biking, snowboarding, and kiting water & snow

Posted 20 July 2005 - 07:19 PM

yes that amount of rocker makes a big differance. I was not really convinced that it was a big deal until i used my Aggression Phatty this past weekend behind a boat. Yes i was able to ride it and yes you could use a wakeboard for kitesurfing, but they ride and feel completely different.

while i was riding my phatty as a wakeboard i could feel the differance in the rocker, for example my board was much more slippery and it popped out and plained much faster. When i tried to jump off the wake the board would slice through it instead of using it as a ramp. It also felt really tight when carving, more like a solemn ski. I could carve sick turns and kick up huge walls of water, but the board just wouldn't pop off the water since it was so flat.